eBridge Alliance

International Universities Fostering Technological and Societal Innovation
through Education, Start-up Development and Co-creation.

IDEA

 300

ONE INTERNATIONAL NETWORK

eBridge Alliance is a network of international universities and linked incubators which share their start-ups, partners, resources and human capital in the pursuit of educating entrepreneurial talents and creating high potential start-ups.

One Goal

eBridge Alliance commits to developing a sustainable framework through which continuous technological and societal innovation delivered by entrepreneurs, start-ups, co-creation partners and projects becomes possible.

Many Ecosystems, Universities, Incubators and Co-Creation Partners In this framework, universities, research institutes, industry partners, start-ups, political organizations, capital providers and civil societies work together on global challenges based on the UN Sustainability Development Goals (SDG).

Your benefits

HEI’S

• Co-create entrepreneurship programs with experts &professors from other institutions

• expand your pool of professors, experts and potentialinternational students

STUDENTS

•work with other students from our international network

•Be incubated in one of international incubators worldwide

INCUBATORS

• Attract and Incubate international early stagestart-ups in defined sectors.

• Access the worldwide incubation facilities ininternational ecosystem exchange

• Grow your existing business cases with start-upsthrough internationalization

Your benefits

COMPANIES

• Work with existing start-ups to find synergies thatwould benefit both parties

• Scout talents from a pool of entrepreneurial students

• Invest in new promising companies

SOCIETY

•SDG driven economic impact

•Solutions to societal challenges

THE TOPIC

Annually, the e-Bridge Alliance consortium selects an SDG inspired topic for the SPRINT answering one global challenge which our societies are confronted with.

SPRINT 2020 TOPIC: WELL-BEING

Spring/Summer Semester 2020:

The projects of 2020 have a focus on individuals and groups well-being. Well-being is a broad topic which goes beyond traditional understanding of the word health. As such it includes both physical, mental and social vitality of an individual or a group and extends from private to public sphere, including one’s workplace. Ideas in the field of food and nutrition are just as welcome, as they support and help preserve the overall well-being of citizens in rapidly developing and changing societies.

THE PROCESS

 930

Phase 1
SCOUTING THROUGH EDUCATION

JANUARY–JULY 2020

Format: Sprint is a program designed for students with an entrepreneurial spirit who wish to be on the frontiers of 2020+ of social and technological innovations that help shape sustainable societies. Sprint is run together by all international partner universities and their ecosystems as to develop promising international start-ups and innovative co-creation projects.

Phase 2
MATCHING PHASE

JULY–SEPTEMBER 2020

When the teaching formats in Spring/Summer semester end, most committed talents and teams at home universities are screened by all e-Bridge University partners for pre-matching purposes. Selected talents & teams will present their profiles and business ideas on a joint e-Bridge Alliance platform.


How to implement your teaching course

• Select an interdisciplinary project course with the topic of ‘well-being’
• Through course develop project teamsworking on the selected topic
• Select most committed students/teams willing to work ontheir business concepts at one of the alliance’s incubators

The first matching stage is done online with the help of the consortium team and well-being experts who suggest possible international start-up teams based on business ideas developed. The second matching stage takes place in one or more physical locations of e-Bridge Alliance entitled The Matching Week.

Based on their preferences, interests and competences and previous suggestions of external experts and coaches, talents and teams are matched and aligned with a suitable incubator. 

Matching Week is open to already existing start-ups to diversify and build up their teams.

The Matching Week takes place from 21-26.09.2020 (online/offline- to be decided).


Phase 3+4
INCUBATION AND CO-CREATION THROUGH OPEN INCUBATOR PROGRAM

OCTOBER 2020 ONWARDS

Once the international start-ups teams are formed ...

• they prepare for joining an incubator of the eBridge network (at their home university or abroad or mixed)
• they continue to work on their business concept virtually
• finally the team is incubated at one or more selected incubators, that provide facilities and coaching for optimally six months


Focus of the incubation and co-creation phases is:

1. Further work on development of their business concept.

2. Once the business concepts and solutions are ready and prepared for market entry, the start-up teams increasingly engage in co-creation projects or use the ecosystem for search of investments.

3. Co-Creation phase follows incubation but ideally they overlap and take place in parallel. Building sustainable partnerships for co-creation with industry and business partners takes place at various times in the process.


OPEN INCUBATOR PROGRAM

OCTOBER 2020 ONWARDS

for Pre-existing start-ups working on various solutions currently incubated or connected to their home university, are welcome to use this opportunity to explore new possibilities in other markets and ecosystems. The host incubator provides support by coaching and mentoring, offers it facilities and stakeholder’ events and gives access to ecosystem partners for co-creation purposes.

PARTNER

The eBridge Alliance is a network of international universities and university-linked entrepreneurship located in worldwide Startup hotspots.

eBridge Alliance Partners

Athens University of Business and Economics, Katerina Pramatari, k.pramatari @ uni.fund and Stratos Baloutsos, acein@aueb.gr

California Polytechnic University, Thomas Katona, tkatona @ calpoly.edu

Denmark Technical University, Mikkel Sorensen, misoe @ dtu.dk

Edinburgh Napier University, Nicholas Fannin, n.fannin @ napier.ac.uk

FH Campus Wien, Petra Pendl, petra.pendl @ fh-campuswien.ac.at

German Center for Robotics- DKR, Milan Kusmuk, m.kusmuk @ dkr.ba

International Burch University, Malcolm Duerod, malcolm.duerod @ ibu.edu.ba

La Trobe University, Eddie ČCustovi´c, e.custovic @latrobe.edu.au

Munich University of Applied Sciences and Strascheg Center for Entrepreneurship, Pavlina Vujovi´c, pavlina.vujovic @ sce.de and Klaus Sailer at klaus.sailer @ sce.de

Ryerson University, Steven Gedeon, sgedeon @ ryerson.ca and Camila Londono, clondono @ ryerson.ca

St. Petersburg Polytechnic University, Aleksy Efimov, efimov @ kafedrapik.ru

Tampere University of Applied Sciences, Lauha Peltonen, lauha.peltonen @ tamk.fi and Anna-Elina Pekonen, anna-elina.pekonen @ tuni.fi

University of Applied Management, Ismaning (Munich), Min Tang, min.tang @ fham.de

University of Aveiro, Barbara Gabriel Coelho, barbara.gabriel @ ua.pt and Eduardo Anselmo de Castro,

vr.cooperacao @ ua.pt