Strascheg Award 2021 - Idea competition of the München University of Applied Sciences

The Strascheg Award is the ideas competition of the Munich University of Applied Sciences and is awarded in three categories for innovative business ideas. The best business ideas from a course (submission in category 1), in the study time (submission in category 2) and from science and practice (submission in category 3) are sought. Ideas, projects and scientific work that are driven forward with entrepreneurial motivation are eligible to apply. The decisive criteria for awarding the prize are the problem presentation, the solution approach, the degree of innovation, the market potential and the implementation planning of the idea. The submitted ideas are evaluated in a multi-stage process by entrepreneurship experts from the SCE and Munich University of Applied Sciences as well as an external jury of experts. The award is endowed with prize money of €30,000. In each of the three categories, the first to third place ideas will receive €5,000, €3,000 and €2,000 respectively.

In addition, all participants receive a personal consultation and qualified feedback on their business idea and the chance to receive funding in our six-month Start-up Certificate funding program with intensive consulting, exclusive seminars/workshops for founders as well as a prototype budget and workspace in the incubator.

The Strascheg Award is sponsored by the Renate & Falk Strascheg Foundation. The award was first announced in 2014 and is presented annually at E'ship Day.

Target group & award categories

Who can enter the ideas competition?

Business ideas for the Strascheg Award 2021 can be submitted by the following individuals and groups: Students, alumni, professors, lecturers, research assistants and employees of Munich University of Applied Sciences. At least one team member must belong to one of the target groups mentioned. In addition, students and alumni from other universities can apply for the award if they have participated in SCE qualification programs and events (category 1).

Award categories:

1. best business idea from a course

Prizes are awarded to the three best entrepreneurial ideas that emerged during courses at Munich University of Applied Sciences or at the SCE.

2. best business idea in the study time

The three best entrepreneurial ideas of students enrolled at the Munich University of Applied Sciences that did not arise during courses will be awarded a prize.

3. best business idea from science and practice

The three best entrepreneurial ideas developed by alumni, professors, lecturers and employees of the Munich University of Applied Sciences will be awarded.

Detailed information on the categories can be found in the conditions of participation.

Application is made by submitting the documents online by the application deadline.

Process & application

If you would like to apply...

  • Read the conditions of participation for the three award categories.
  • The application is only possible online via the application form until the application deadline with the following documents:
    • Formulated idea paper of max. ten pages or comparable document (e.g. meaningful presentation / read deck) in German or English; an exemplary template of the idea paper can be found in the download area (top right).
    • Plus CVs of all persons involved in the application
  • Submission via the online application form (via the application link on the top right):
    • Select the appropriate award category, fill out the application form and upload a ZIP file of max. 10MB with your documents (documents in PDF format).
  • Deadline for application is 12.09.2021 at 23.59. You will receive a confirmation of receipt.
  • Announcement of the nominees, the best ideas in three categories: October
  • Festive award ceremony at the Munich University of Applied Sciences at the E'ship Day on November 17, 2021 (details to follow); mandatory participation & idea presentation (pitch of max. 5 minutes) by the nominated award participants as part of the stage program.


continue to the conditions of participation

Jury & selection

The business ideas will be evaluated by an expert-jury involving entrepreneurship experts from the Strascheg Center for Entrepreneurship and the HM Hochschule München University of Applied Sciences and external partners. The written documents form the basis for the evaluation.

Selection criteria are:

  • degree of innovativeness
  • market potential
  • prospective implementation

All information submitted as part of the application process will be treated confidentially.

Award & prize money

The award amounts to EUR 30,000. Each of the three award categories has price money of EUR 10,000.

All participants will benefit from individual coaching and qualified feedback concerning their business idea.

In addition the participants have the chance to be supported in our funding program for founders, the Start-up Certificate: a six-month free accelerator program offered by the SCE start-up support team for the implementation of business ideas. 

The award is donated by the Renate & Falk Strascheg Foundation.

Strascheg Award 2021 - Ideenwettbewerb der Hochschule München

Der Strascheg Award ist der Ideenwettbewerb der Hochschule München und wird in drei Kategorien für innovative Geschäftsideen vergeben. Gesucht werden die besten Geschäftsideen aus einer Lehrveranstaltung (Einreichung in Kategorie 1), in der Studienzeit (Einreichung in Kategorie 2) sowie aus Wissenschaft und Praxis (Einreichung in Kategorie 3). Bewerben können sich Ideen, Projekte und wissenschaftliche Arbeiten, die dabei mit unternehmerischer Motivation vorangetrieben werden. Ausschlaggebende Kriterien bei der Preisvergabe sind die Problemdarstellung, der Lösungsansatz, der Innovationsgrad, das Marktpotential und die Umsetzungsplanung der Idee. Die eingereichten Ideen werden in einem mehrstufigen Prozess von Entrepreneurship-ExpertInnen vom SCE und der Hochschule München sowie einer externen Fach-Jury bewertet. Der Award ist mit einem Preisgeld von 30.000€ dotiert. In jeder der drei Kategorien erhalten die erst- bis drittplatzierte Idee 5.000€, 3.000€ und 2.000€.

Außerdem bekommen alle TeilnehmerInnen ein persönliches Beratungsgespräch und qualifiziertes Feedback zu ihrer Geschäftsidee und die Chance zur Förderung in unserem sechsmonatigen Start-up Zertifikat Förderprogramm mit intensiver Beratung, exklusiven Seminaren/Workshops für GründerInnen sowie Prototypenbudget und Arbeitsplatz im Inkubator. 

Gestiftet wird der Strascheg Award von der Renate & Falk Strascheg Stiftung. Der Preis wurde 2014 erstmalig ausgeschrieben und wird jährlich beim E’ship Day verliehen.

Zielgruppen und Preiskategorien

Wer kann am Ideenwettbewerb teilnehmen?

Von den folgenden Personen und Gruppen können Geschäftsideen für den Strascheg Award 2021 eingereicht werden: Studierende, Alumni, ProfessorInnen, Lehrbeauftragte, wissenschaftliche MitarbeiterInnen und Angestellte der Hochschule München. Mindestens ein Teammitglied muss einer der genannten Zielgruppen angehören. Zudem können sich Studierende und Alumni anderer Hochschulen für den Preis bewerben, wenn sie an Qualifizierungsprogrammen und  Veranstaltungen des SCE teilgenommen haben (Kategorie 1). 

Preiskategorien:  

1. Beste Geschäftsidee aus einer Lehrveranstaltung

Prämiert werden die drei besten unternehmerischen Ideen, die bei Lehrveranstaltungen an der Hochschule München oder am SCE entstanden sind. 

2. Beste Geschäftsidee in der Studienzeit

Prämiert werden die drei besten unternehmerischen Ideen immatrikulierter StudentInnen der Hochschule München, die nicht im Rahmen von Lehrveranstaltungen entstanden sind. 

3. Beste Geschäftsidee aus Wissenschaft und Praxis

Prämiert werden die drei besten unternehmerischen Ideen, die von Alumni, ProfessorInnen, Lehrbeauftragten und MitarbeiterInnen der Hochschule München entwickelt wurden. 

Detaillierte Informationen zu den Kategorien finden Sie in den Teilnahmebedingungen

Die Bewerbung erfolgt mit der Online-Einreichung der Unterlagen zum Bewerbungsschluss.

Ablauf und Bewerbung

Wenn Sie sich bewerben möchten...

  • Lesen Sie die Teilnahmebedingungen der drei Preiskategorien
  • Die Bewerbung ist nur online über das Anmeldeformular bis zum Bewerbungsschluss mit den folgenden Unterlagen möglich:
    • Ausformuliertes max. zehnseitiges Ideenpapier oder vergleichbare Unterlage (z. B. aussagekräftige Präsentation / Read Deck) in deutscher oder englischer Sprache; eine beispielhafte Vorlage des Ideenpapiers befindet sich im Download-Bereich (rechts oben) zur Orientierung
    • Zzgl. Lebensläufe aller Beteiligten an der Bewerbung
  • Einreichung über das Online-Anmeldeformular (über den Anmeldelink rechts oben): 
    • Wählen Sie die passende Preis-Kategorie, füllen Sie das Anmeldeformular aus und laden Sie eine ZIP-Datei mit max. 10MB mit Ihren Unterlagen hoch (Dokumente im PDF-Format)
  • Bewerbungsschluss ist der 12.09.2021 um 23.59 Uhr. Sie erhalten eine Eingangsbestätigung.
  • Bekanntgabe der Nominierten, der besten Ideen in drei Kategorien: Oktober
  • Feierliche Preisverleihung an der Hochschule München beim HM E'Ship Summit am 17. November 2021; Kostenlose Anmeldung. Obligatorische Teilnahme & Ideen-Vorstellung (Pitch von max. 5 Minuten) durch die nominierten Award-TeilnehmerInnen im Rahmen des Bühnenprogramms.

 

weiter zu den Teilnahmebedingungen

Jury und Bewertung

Die Geschäftsideen werden von einer Fach-Jury bestehend aus Entrepreneurship-ExpertInnen von SCE/Hochschule München und von externen PartnerInnen bewertet. Die Bewertungsgrundlage bilden die schriftlichen Unterlagen.

Die Bewertung erfolgt anhand der Kriterien:

  • Innovationsgrad
  • Marktpotenzial
  • Umsetzungsaussichten

Die vertrauliche Behandlung aller eingereichten Ideen ist gewährleistet.

Förderung und Preisgeld

Der Award ist mit einem Preisgeld von 30.000€ dotiert. In allen drei Kategorien wird jeweils ein Preisgeld von 10.000€ vergeben.

Alle TeilnehmerInnen beim Strascheg Award wird ein persönliches Beratungsgespräch und qualifiziertes Feedback zu ihrer Geschäftsidee sowie die Chance zur Förderung in unserem sechsmonatigen Start-up Zertifikat Förderprogramm mit intensiver Beratung, exklusiven Seminaren/Workshops für GründerInnen sowie Prototypenbudget und Arbeitsplatz im Inkubator angeboten.